Jazz Icons: Duke Ellington – Live in '58 - DVD




Sorry, we are currently sold out of 'Jazz Icons: Duke Ellington – Live in '58 - DVD'.



Product Code: D1111
Artist: Duke Ellington
Publisher: Jazz Icons
Series: Jazz Icons
ISBN-13: 9781423453666
ISBN-10: 1-4234-5366-2
Publisher SKU: 2119001
UPC-A: 884088206628

Jazz Icons: Duke Ellington features the earliest-known filmed full-length concert by one of the 20th Century's greatest songwriters and bandleaders. Filmed at Amsterdam's famed Concertgebouw, this 80-minute concert features the 16-piece Duke Ellington Orchestra two years after their stunning performance at the 1956 Newport Jazz Festival,which Duke considered his second birth. This epic performance includes legendary players Clark Terry, Johnny Hodges, Harry Carney, Paul Gonsalves, Quentin Jackson and Ray Nance performing some of the most beloved American music ever written.

Live in Holland 1958


  • Johnny Hodges (Alto Sax)
  • Russell Procope (Alto Sax, Clarinet)
  • Paul Gonsalves (Tenor Sax)
  • Jimmy Hamilton (Tenor Sax, Clarinet)
  • Harry Carney (Baritone Sax, Clarinet, Bass Clarinet)
  • Trumpets:
  • Cat Anderson
  • Harold “Shorty” Baker
  • Ray Nance (Trumpet, Violin, Vocal)
  • Clark Terry
  • Trombones:
  • Quentin Jackson
  • John Sanders (Valve Trombone)
  • Britt Woodman
  • Rhythm section:
  • Duke Ellington (Piano)
  • Jimmy Woode (Bass)
  • Sam Woodyard (Drums)
  • Ozzie Bailey (Vocal)

  • Songs:
  • Black And Tan Fantasy
  • Creole Love Call
  • The Mooch
  • Harlem Air Shaft
  • My Funny Valentine
  • Kinda Dukish/Rockin’ In Rhythm
  • Mr. Gentle And Mr. Cool
  • Jack The Bear
  • All Of Me
  • Things Ain’t What They Used To Be
  • Hi-Fi-Fo-Fum
  • Sophisticated Lady
  • Don’t Get Around Much Anymore
  • Do Nothing Til You Hear From Me
  • Don’t You Know I Care
  • In A Sentimental Mood
  • Mood Indigo
  • I’m Beginning To See The Light
  • Caravan
  • I Got It Bad And That Ain’t Good
  • It Don’t Mean A Thing (If It Ain’t Got That Swing)
  • Solitude
  • I Let A Song Go Out Of My Heart
  • Don’t Get Around Much Anymore
  • Diminuendo And Crescendo In Blue

  • Features:
  • 24-page booklet
  • Liner notes by Patricia Willard
  • Foreword by Edward Kenndy Ellington II
  • Cover photo by Lee Tanner
  • Booklet photos by Duncan Schiedt, Lee Tanner, Riccardo Schwamenthal, Ray Avery, Susanne Schapowalow
  • 2 memorabilia collages
  • Total time: 80 minutes

  • Foreword: My name is Edward Kennedy Ellington II, and Duke Ellington is my grandfather. So much for all my positive qualities.

    During my life, there have been numerous attempts, by friends and family, to show me the proper path. Unfortunately, their noble endeavors have rendered mixed results.

    Two lessons by my grandfather come to mind.

    Once, while performing at the Rainbow Room in Manhattan, Ellington discovered the band lacked one musician for the union mandate. He immediately told me to borrow one of my father Mercer’s trumpets and sit next to Cootie Williams in the trumpet section.

    The euphoria of actually being in the Duke Ellington Band was so overwhelming that I began to believe I could actually play. As I raised the trumpet to my lips, Cootie said, “If you play one note, you’ll be dead before it’s heard.”

    —Edward K. Ellington II