Jazz Icons: Lionel Hampton – Live in '58 - DVD






Product Code: D1124
Publisher: Hal Leonard
ISBN-13: 978-1-4234-6336-8
UPC-A: 884088274405

In this splendid Belgium concert Lionel Hampton's rendition of The High and The Mighty, complete with his four-mallet introduction, reminds us that he was a superb ballad player. The irrepressible Hamp plays piano, drums, and vibes, does a little singing, and throws in some dance steps as he and his big band absolutely delight this Belgian audience.

With stalwart jazz soloists such as Andy McGhee, Lou Blackburn, Bobby Plater, Wilbert Hogan, and Eddie Williams, this Hampton Band plays his mixture of jump blues, jazz, and R&B and the crowd loves it.

Album Contents:

  • 1. The High And The Mighty
  • 2. Hamp's Piano Blues
  • 3. History Of Jazz
  • 4. Hot Club Blues
  • 5. I Found A New Baby
  • 6. The Chase
  • 7. Brussels Sprouts
  • 8. Sticks Ahoy
  • 9. Gladys

  • Format: Best of, Color, Dolby, DVD-Video, Live, NTSC
    Language: English
    Region: All Regions
    Run Time: 58 minutes