Jazz Icons: Nina Simone – Live in '65 & '68 - DVD






Product Code: D1126
Artist: Nina Simone
Publisher: Jazz Icons
Series: Jazz Icons
ISBN-13: 9781423463382
Publisher SKU: 2119014
UPC-A: 884088274429

This is the folk Nina (The Ballad of Hollis Brown) and the jazz Nina (Love Me Or Leave Me) presented here in live club and TV performances in typically Nina Simone spellbinding fashion. Nina recalls the passion, fury and angst of the Civil Rights struggle and the 1960s with impassioned renditions of Brown Baby, Four Women and Mississippi Goddamn.

This collection of Nina Simone, a superb vocalist-pianist who absolutely defied catergorization, includes a stirring rendition of her signature song I Loves You Porgy. Featuring a 24 page booklet with liner notes by Rob Bowman, forward by Nina's daughter, Lisa Simone Kelly, rare photographs, and memorabilia collage.

Album Contents:

  • 1. Brown Baby
  • 2. Four Women
  • 3. The Ballad Of Hollis Brown
  • 4. Tomorrow Is My Turn
  • 5. Images
  • 6. Go Limp
  • 7. Mississippi Goddamn
  • 8. Go To Hell
  • 9. Ain't Got No, I Got Life
  • 10. Backlash Blues
  • 11. I Put A Spell On You
  • 12. Please Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood
  • 13. Why? (The King Of Love Is Dead)

  • Format: Best of, Color, Dolby, DVD-Video, Live, NTSC
    Language: English
    Region: All Regions
    Run Time: 64 minutes