MOZART Piano Quartet No.1 in G minor - KV478 (minus Piano)






Product Code: MMOCD6020
ISBN-13: 978-1-59615-094-2
ISBN-10: 1-59615-094-7
Publisher SKU: MMOCD6020
UPC-A: 77712360203
Instrumentation: Piano

Mozart’s Piano Quartet No. 1 - KV478 - was completed in 1785. The result was a work which defined a genre - allowing the piano and the accompanying strings to share melody in a unified manner - as well as enjoying some concerto-like orchestrations which allow the piano to shine beautifully. Cast in three-movement form - it is pure - delectable Mozart - the overall effect ranging from powerful to bewitchingly charming. The first movement begins Allegro with an intense passion that gives way to a slightly melancholy Andante movement and then a sprightly Rondo which features delicious interplay between the instruments. Unfortunately the public of the 1780s found the work too complex and the publisher canceled the series. But it has remained one of the eternal classics of the piano chamber repertoire - and now you can play it with your own Music Minus One accompaniment!


Piano Quartet No. 1 in G minor, KV478
Piano Quartet No. 1 in G minor, KV478
Piano Quartet No. 1 in G minor, KV478

Click On Each Image to Zoom. Click the larger image to close.