Quartet In F - Saxophone Quartet






Product Code: 07679
Author: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart/arr. Christoph Enzel
Publisher: Advance Music
Publisher SKU: 07679
UPC-A: 805095076790

By Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. Arranged by Christoph Enzel. For Saxophone Quartet. (SATB). Saxophone Quartet. Full Score and Set of Parts. Published by Advance Music.

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart wrote the oboe quartet in F, K-number 370, early in 1771 for the oboist Friedrich Ramm. In an impressive manner, this composition gives expression to the intimacy inherent in Mozart's chamber music: After the introduction of the theme by the soloist, the supporting voices join in taking an active part in the musical flow of the first movement and converting the oboe's soliloquy into a dialogue. An expressive, marvelous theme dominates the second movement, the suspense of which does not ease until the composition proceeds to the concluding rondeau a rondeau almost bursting with its exuberant joie de vivre.

This composition certainly ranks with Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart's best-known and most beautiful pieces of work.

On the occasion of the Mozart Year 2006 I have ventured to write an arrangement for the saxophone quartet clair-obscur.

To a large extent, I have retained the original key and octave positions; for the parts which include technical difficulties well-tried alternative ossia possibilities are available.

Mozart's oboe quartet is a real MUST and represents a great musical challenge to each saxophone quartet.