Magnolias Dripping with Molasses: Essentially Ellington

Score and Parts

Score and Parts




Product Code: 44945
Composer: Duke Ellington and Billy Strayhorn
Publisher: Alfred
Series: Essentially Ellington: Jazz at Lincoln Center Library
Publisher SKU: 00-44945
UPC-A: 038081510088

The first movement of Ellington's masterpiece, "Deep South Suite" from 1946, begins with a slow introduction, followed by a build up to an exciting break for the trumpet section. Riffs and solos abound, trumpet, trombone, and clarinet are featured. The end is classic Ellington with a small "band within a band" and then a long crescendo to a final tutti chord.