The Radetzky March






Product Code: 07688
Author: Johann Strauss/arr. Bill Perconti
Publisher: Advance Music
Publisher SKU: 07688
UPC-A: 805095076882

Saxophone Quartet (SATB)

Marches are perhaps the most nationalistic of music styles, as they are often associated with military and national pride. The Radetzky March by Johann Strauss Sr. (1804 – 1849) was composed in 1848. The work is dedicated to the Austrian Army, and the title refers to Field Marshall Radetzky, an Austrian military hero. The march has become so popular it is now considered the unofficial national anthem of Austria.

The march is one of the most flexible of musical forms, suitable for solo playing and for both large and small ensembles. J. Strauss Sr. is known as one of the first composers to take dance music on tour. The Radetzky March contains characteristics of European dances popular in 19th century Europe, such as the waltz, polka, and quadrille.

This arrangement for saxophone quartet contains a minimum of dynamic, expression, and articulation markings, allowing the players to develop their own interpretation. However, players are encouraged to keep the festive nature of the march in mind, and the use of the suggested ornamentation will lend verve and flair to the music.