Bolero - Sax Quartet

Full Score

Full Score




Product Code: 07457
Author: Christoph Enzel and Maurice Ravel
Publisher: Advance Music
Publisher SKU: 07457

Saxophone Quartet (SATB)

Maurice Ravel’s Boléro is probably one of the most frequently performed works of orchestral literature. The composition originated between July and October 1928 and was dedicated to the dancer Ida Rubinstein. It was premiered on November 22, 1928 at the Paris Opera. His work’s fast rise in popularity remained alien to the composer throughout his lifetime. Maurice Ravel once said to fellow composer Arthur Honegger: “I have written only one masterpiece. That is Boléro. Unfortunately it contains no music.”

This arrangement perfectly tops off the series of arrangements of Ravel’s works I have written for saxophone quartet. Being an extremely shortened version of the original composition, this arrangement provides for a smaller but nevertheless comparatively intense dramatic arc. Its astonishing appeal to the audience remains unimpaired. The piece is excellently suited for any concert situation.