Charles Mingus - More Than A Fakebook






Product Code: MINGUS
Publisher: Hal Leonard
ISBN-10: 0-7935-0900-9
UPC-A: 073999732207

Charles Mingus was a pioneer figure in modern jazz. Besides being a virtuoso bass player who played with the top jazz musicians for four decades, he was also an accomplished pianist, bandleader and composer who recorded more than 100 albums and wrote more than 300 original and innovative scores.

This incredible collection explores Mingus' background and prestigious career as well as 55 of his pieces. The stories behind each song are given and accompanied by notes on how Mingus played the piece. Mingus photos, anecdotes, quotes and an extensive discography fill this volume that collectors will treasure. A truly personal work that celebrates the genius within this jazz legend.

Songs included:
• Fables of Faubus
• Sue's Changes
• Better Get Hit in Your Soul
• Weird Nightmare
• And more!!

160 pages.